The National Irrigation Board has two main research stations, Mwea Irrigation Agricultural Development Centre (MIAD) and Ahero Irrigation Research Centre (AIRS) and substations at Perkerra Irrigation scheme and Bura irrigation scheme which play a key role in irrigation research. They undertake research activities relating to agricultural water management and bulking of paddy seed for sale to farmers. They are also actively involved in building capacity of farmers and Water Users Association leaders on irrigation management transfer.

Mwea Irrigation Agricultural Development Centre (MIAD)

Ahero Irrigation Research Centre (AIRS)

Join our community


Website Visits

Today 109

Yesterday 181

Week 290

Month 3398

All 92644